Skip to content

My technical life, day by day.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I am not a huge Twitter user, I use it from time to time to post updates about myself and my blog posts, but recently while reading my RSS feeds from Lifehacker, I came across an application called TweetMyPC. This program allows you, through Twitter, to shutdown, reboot, lock, logoff, etc via your mobile phone.

It basically works like this:

  1. The application is installed on your computer and you enter your Twitter username and password. I suggest setting up a separate Twitter account to use with TweetMyPC so that others can’t see your commands that you tweet.
  2. Once the application is installed, run the program and you will notice a Twitter icon in the task bar.

image 

3.   Enter your Twitter username and password and click Save and Close.

That’s all there is to it, simply enable your Twitter account to use text messaging or install a Twitter app to your mobile device if your device supports one that is currently available. Once you have that setup, just tweet the command and TweetMyPC will make it happen.

Go here for a list of commands to tweet to control your computer.

This is a pretty neat application, heck I would use Twitter just to be able to use this program. If you have a Windows Mobile device or your device supports Remote Desktop, the combination of that and TweetMyPC will surely give you more control of your computer remotely. One of the best features of this program is creating your own commands! Anyone have an custom commands they created for this program? If you do what are they?

